AudioFile Recommends

THE NEW COUNTESS
by Fay Weldon | Read by Katherine Kellgren

Narrator Katherine Kellgren shines in this third book of a trilogy that is perfect for fans of “Downton Abbey.” The cast of characters spans social classes and countries, and Kellgren is consistently spot-on with her accents and voices. More than simply differentiating between voices, Kellgren fully inhabits the multitude of characters, infusing them with such emotions as to make crystal clear their hopes, dreams, and ambitions. Weldon is at the top of her game as well, resolving the trilogy with a strong novel that balances a complex plot of its own with a dramatic and satisfying conclusion to the story as a whole. J.L.K. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award © AudioFile 2014, Portland, Maine